2021 Rangel Graduate Fellows Selected!

Congratulations to our 2021 Rangel International Affairs Graduate Fellows!

On December 4, 2020 the Charles B. Rangel International Affairs Fellowship selection panel chose 45 Rangel Fellows for the 2021 cohort in a highly-competitive nationwide selection process.  These Fellows were selected in one of the most competitive cycles in the program history for their highly impressive repertoires of educational, extracurricular, and professional experiences, as well as their demonstrated commitment to someday serve the country as Foreign Service Officers in the U.S. Department of State. The Rangel Program will support the 2021 Fellows as they earn advanced graduate degrees and hone their professional skills through internships in the U.S. Congress and overseas at U.S. embassies and consulates. Their time in the program will be further amplified through mentorship from current Foreign Service Officers and professional development activities. The Rangel Program anticipates our 2021 Fellows entering the Foreign Service beginning in the summer of 2023, where they will join the ranks of many other dedicated individuals representing and promoting U.S. interests in global peace and security, prosperity, and diplomacy abroad.  The Rangel Program is a U.S. Department of State program administered by Howard University.

The 2021 cohort of Rangel Fellows represents the Rangel Program’s goals of excellence and diversity.  The group brings outstanding academics, professional experiences, community service, and cross-cultural experiences.  Our 2021 Fellows have demonstrated a strong commitment to public service and an interest in promoting positive change around the world.  With highly diverse backgrounds, the Fellows speak 3different foreign languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Yoruba, Korean, Russian, Haitian Creole, French, Spanish, and German. Embodying the Rangel program mission of representing the United States abroad, the current group comes from communities across the United States, showing strong geographic diversity. The Fellows come from 21 states plus Korea and American Samoa, and include New York, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, Texas, Alabama, North Carolina, Virginia. Each of the following states and territories produced one Fellow: American Samoa, California, Hawaii, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Washington. Their academic backgrounds are equally diverse; they represent 40 different universities as current students or alumni including large state universities, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Minority Serving Institutions, and smaller private colleges.

The 2021 Fellows include both graduating seniors and professionals with post-undergraduate work experience in teaching, U.S. government agencies, academia, the military, non-governmental organizations, international organizations, and business.  Many have benefited from State Department student programs, including internship opportunities, Fulbright, Public Policy and International Affairs (PPIA) Program, Critical Language Scholarship, and the Gilman Scholarship, as well as the Rangel undergraduate International Affairs Summer Enrichment Program. Fellows are currently applying for graduate programs in areas related to the Foreign Service in U.S. universities across the country.

Congratulations to our 2021 Rangel Fellows!

Sarah Ahmed University of Maryland-College Park
Nicholas Albright Morehouse College
Erica Alexander Georgia State University
Charlotte Armistead University of Mississippi
Radhika Arora The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Houssaynatou Barry CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Briah Bass Boston University
Hermanoschy Bernard CUNY Bernard M Baruch College
Mikah Bertelmann Lewis & Clark College
Amyre Brandom Xavier University of Louisiana
Tiffany Brown University of Georgia
Allison Chen Yale University
Angela Chin The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Yookyung Chung Wellesley College
Carolina Cortez University of Southern California
Katarina de la Rosa The University of Texas at Austin
Landon Fortenberry Michigan State University
Brittni Foster Tufts University
Sophia Fulton Baylor University
Alejandro Garcia Escobar Plascencia Georgetown University
Bezakulu (Beza) Gebru University of Arizona
Fana HaileSelassie Spelman College
Taylor Hinch Villanova University
Korde Inniss Morehouse College
John Iosefo University of San Francisco
Idia Irele Smith College
James Jackson Cornell University
Tatum James Arizona State University-Tempe
Isaac Kim Georgetown University
Zizhan Luo American University
Misbah Nauman Stony Brook University
Dan (Tammy) Nguyen American University
Cierra Powell Carroll College
Christina Presmy Florida Atlantic University
Jayaram Ravi Stanford University
Jhoalmo Sibrian University of North Texas
Kayla Smith Spelman College
Dilek Tas New York University
Ashley Towers Citadel Military College of South Carolina
Jane Viviano University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Cassia Waligora Wheaton College-Wheaton
Jacqueline White Menchaca Arizona State University-Downtown Phoenix
Lilah Wilder University of Kansas
Ngai Kay Wong Macalester College
Jamie Wu Williams College

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.